top of page

The Big Day!

This is it. The big day is finally here. Tomorrow I will be venturing out to the city to meet up with 23 fellow students who have been lucky enough to, just like me, receive one of this years Premiers Anzac Memorial Scholarships. The past few days have been so hectic what with packing and organising and last minute quick shopping trips to buy a few bits and pieces. However, finally my suitcase is packed, phone is fully charged, my camera is ready to go and my official uniform ironed and waiting! I can't believe that the day after next I'll be flying out to France to walk in the footsteps of those who fought for our freedom so long ago. It will be an amazing experience that I will cherish in my heart forever. The days have flown by so quickly that I can clearly remember a few months ago in March when I had only just found out that my application had been successful. A few of the places that we will be visiting are the Ypres Salient (a crucial area of WW1), The Somme and the Lochnagar Crater, and these are just three of the few amazing places we will get to visit on our trip! There are a few things I am a bit worried about a.k.a THE 21 HOUR PLANE FLIGHT! I don't think it's possible for anyone to sit still for that long! I'm also really nervous about meeting the other 23 scholars! They all seem like amazing people but most are a lot older than me and to tell you the truth, I feel a little intimidated! So, throughout my trip, I will be trying my hardest to write frequent blog posts to keep you all updated with lots of photos and stories to share with you all.

Thankyou and enjoy!


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page